Analyze This

sa “I Killed Hunter S. Thompson”. Who’s it by? I don’t know offhand. I got it off the Bomp.

Frank Bompensiero: A Bad, Bad Boy
Judith Moore’s biography A Bad, Bad Boy on Mafia hitman and FBI informant Frank Bompensiero — whacked by the Los Angeles Mafia in 1977 — comes out on July 15. Allan May writes the following on Bompensiero for Crime Magazine:

Before turning FBI informant in 1967, Frank “the Bomp” Bompensiero had been the most feared Mafia hit man in Southern California for more than 30 years. Killing fellow mobsters was his specialty. His reward from the Los Angeles Mafia was to be made boss of San Diego. When his long-time friend Jimmy “The Weasel” Fratianno found out in 1976 that the Bomp had turned informant, it took the Mafia more than six months to get the hit on Bompensiero executed. Later, after Fratianno had transformed himself into a media event by becoming an FBI informant himself, he said during a television documentary in 1991 that Bompensiero “had buried more bones than could be found in the brontosaurus room of the Museum of Natural History.”

One Hundred Eighty-Seven is the Case.

187

I checked out your blog. You posted something I had written about reducing P2P, eh? Interesting.

I’m sorry to hear about your troubles with the wifey and with work. I’m about to go to sleep but I want to give you a little present first. From my old notes:
86 g Phenylacetic Acid
800 mL Acetic Anhydride (fresh)
43 g sodium acetate
Oven dried molecular sieves

In a three neck 1 L flask fitted with a nitrogen purge line and a thermometer, all above were quickly thrown in while under a stream of N2. The flask was then fitted with a water condenser with a drierite drying tube. The N2 purge was slowed to minimal positive pressure and the oil bath heated for 46 hrs to ~170°C, such that rxn temp was ~145°C. Reflux and gas evolution was slight. Color slowly went from clear to yellow. Afterward, solution was rotovaped down to about 300-400 mL dissolved in ~200 mL DCM and stirred vigorously with and excess of 4M NaOH, until no more hydrolysis (noted by vigorous bubbling) occurred. Organic layer separated, aqueous extracted 3 x with DCM, pooled extracts dried w/ mag sulfate, filtered (which also got rid of some insoluble junk) and rotovaped off DCM. Yield 64.4 g (76%), very pure by 1H-NMR and TLC.

Reasoning for higher yield: fresh (not wet) AA, continuous positive pressure of N2, drying tube, and mol seives = very dry rxn

I believe Potassium Acetate is better than Sodium Acetate for this reaction. I’d have to check my notes on that one.

Take care. Talk to you later.

I can’t do this, Bomp. I have too many little quirks. The pages won’t load fast enough. I have to run on the treadmill. Les Miserables is playing on TV. What’s worst, I’m psychic. A hat floated down the Paris sewer. I shop for hats last night. I think about crystal. Somebody says ‘crystal’, and, I look at them. There’s nothing there. Their eyes are blank. They are running a blank. They mean glass. Arrrrgh! Leaded cut glass. Nothing but miserable cut glass. I’m talking to them and they are just an image on TV. Now they are a beret, again in the sewer. They are not only crazy, they are crazy in French, like the song, “Psycho Killer”. The television is sending me messages. Yes, yes? What is it I am supposed to do? Get home? Ah, I might have a problem with that. There’s a TRO. You misunderstood, voices in my head. What I wanted was something to click to get shot back to my home page. A little house? Yeah, you’re slipping. Watch it. You know that I count on you to say what I should do, and I will do whatever you say, so, there it is there. I exist to carry out the orders. Transmit the message. Hope for an answer some day. Maybe there’s a guy wearing the beret. All you can see on top of the swirling sewer water is his hat. He’s under there. I don’t feel like that. I feel like a guy beset with fleas. It is the same number of fleas, but as they all climb toward my head to stay out of the rising water, it gets to be quite a wave of biting fleas. Oh, some of them fly.

No, I had a title, Richard: Analyze This. Oops. I said your name. Then I looked for a guy smoking a cigarette, and I saw a guy smoking a cigarette, Google Images has hundreds of them. But, right here is one of a guy, and it looks like Robert DiNiro, diNiro, in a surf bar, because you have your gays, . . .where am I going with this? I don’t have time to make a whole camp and kitschy post involving queerdom. That’s for another time. Anyway, in a chem school, we really want the images of the people right now. Using images to sell magazines is not the way. But, sometimes I do choose the younger images of the same people. Not today. Why do I imagine learning as the young’s thing? Learning to make meth will destroy you! Better you should be old, with less life to lose, right? Notice Chancellor Hitler was in his fifties. I’m reading about Caligula.
894
That made ‘Caligula’ a number.
That’s all the evils I have, guys. I am beyond good and evil. We have people who are living, but people who are dead, taking Lavoisier as an example, we must post a young Lavoisier since chemistry was young, right? No, don’t be ridiculous. What a stupendous bias. We’ll be obtaining his genome before long and posting the code for the expression of the strands of his massive brain so you’ll know who I’m talking about. There people are just smokers. Am I going to post them smoking their finest cigarette? It is highly subjective. Ain’t gonna do it. It really galls me I have to post diNiro to prove my point that this guy looks like him. What’s that? The voices say to do it.

Aw, look at these shitty spectra. This is a car wreck. I’m not the one to say I’m going too fast, though. I don’t even know why people die and come back to life. They all look the same when they are dying. You can’t tell Able from Baker. Beyond psychic, to the metaparanormal, we have, …something. Let’s face it, I forgot. I think it was just something I had to remember to write after I made a point about the paranormal, because those are extremely hard to describe under the best of circumstances. There’s no exact language and they slip away. We want to put down the world as it is now, and the laboratory notebook looks stupid with dirt samples taped inside the pages.
1152
Yeah, I am late. How do you describe fucking matter, space and time correctly, with discoverers in it? I am post-metaparanormal (post-menopausal, I know). People were dead. I was on a roll.

I’ll just go all stinking, then. I’ll be fashionably late, like I’m on meth. They’re all on meth these days. This pitiful NMR spectrum shows the acetophenone protons; there’s two kinds, but the bunch on the left are the three methyl protons, and yes, they didn’t have P2P. It would change to the five of ethyl. These three are split. Shifted downfield by resonance stabilization are the five aromatic protons in acetophenone . Now, how is homeboy showing no contamination? What did we have? IR, NMR, and Mass Spec. Well, IR, I guess. But, IR is going to show a huge water peak at 3000 wavenumbers, and water is not a significant contaminant. What was this? We have to predict the likely contamination if the reaction goes too far or doesn’t react, so, we do need library spectra from the starting materials, and I l . . .just got a call from Dax. I can’t believe that guy giving me a refund. What a moron. I’m not going to National City without a shower. I can’t get off the Internet.

I’ve got a rogue piece of code. This is all going to be in italics. Don’t use a computer to compare spectra for you; that’s all I can say. I can’t teach a whole course in spectrometric identification of organic compounds in an hour. What a disappointment. I was just going to teach you what you need to make speed. Try not to blow yourselves up until I fix this.

1430

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Analyze This”

  1. sbillinghurst Says:

    I don’t know. I guess I’ll do a smattering of comment. I missed the call on what P2P’s proton NMR would look like. It wouldn’t be the five of “ethyl”, because the hydrogens (it’s proton NMR, nuclear magnetic resonance, so, it is the nucleus of the hydrogens. These are the 3Hs of CH3—, or, the 2Hs of —CH2—, methyl and methylene, respectively. Of course, in big universities they also have the C-13 NMR. It’s the Larmor frequency of the ringing, like, maybe they have to be odd, but even though most carbon is 12C, enough 13C exists in any sample to work); I didn’t even want to say this. You’d believe me no matter what I said. If anybody smart reads this, however, they would notice that in P2P, it is benzyl on one side and still methyl, not ethyl, on the other side of the carbonyl group, so the methylene and the methyl are in very different environments. The other kind of NMR is imaging, called MRI. But, I see he mentions TLC, now, that’s not, …(I aready toad this joke)—it’s how to check contamination. The precursor spot disappears as the product spot appears, each at a characteristic r/f value.

    He says to use fresh AA, and it is acetic anhydride, of course, like I guessed. Fresh means freshly distilled. You don’t have to make it fresh. You have to dry it fresh. I don’t know whether that is distilled; it could be. You look that up in F & F, Reagents.

    Just a note on ESP: I blew my mind today by successfully going to the grocery store just at the right time to bump into my wife, so I saw my son. It was a good day.

  2. sbillinghurst Says:

    Another comment? Why not? I’ll explain how I was looking for an image to weave into this post, and then since it was named “Analyze This”, and how when out of time to get paid, that’s all I can think about, not losing money when it’s as good as gotten (the guy Dax is actually this other thing I had not considered: an honest man, and (stop laughing) I told him that. Naw, you would be surprised. Under the influence of even say, speed, many folks will get a generous streak in them. Tweaks are regular saints if you catch them in the right parts of the cycle. Cocaine shooters are in a much tighter cycle, so they will give you a shot when they are flying, but soon hate you for it. What do they want, blood? Like I’m about to leave when you still have coke.), so that I was certain I should halt looking for cigarette pictures (the smoking of a cigarette was all I could think of in contrast to the mug shot motif—criminals when they’re suffering are photographed in grief, so, when we’re out we are loving every minute of it, like, enjoying our smoke, and there were different smokers to choose from. You are better off not seeing your heroes young. Get pictures of them after age sixty. Oh. They’re not there yet? And, who the fuck is this? Don’t blink or it’ll all be behind you, suckers.

    So, it is going to be smokers and I was presented with a DiNiro double, and lo and behold, the movie “Analyze This”, stars DiNiro and Billy Crystal. So, to hold that side-by-side (I never Google ‘diNiro smoking’), I get what you see, and fuck up my spectra in the process, but it’s about the fucking spectra. Jesus! and, the irony was killing me. I never went so far to chase a psychic bend. The right half of an IR spectrum is called the fingerprint region. It’s different for every compound.

Leave a comment