Citizen Sheen

http://www.maximumawesome.com/reference/g-safire.htm

See also: J. D. Salinger

John Updike was the one I just spent several minutes locating.  I thought he just died, but it was january 27, 2009. That’s two days after my first post on this blog.  He did the rich description of everyday scenes (they call that mundane), and I had noticed the same thing in parallel, although I do not write about it.  I had to become ill to appreciate the mundane for what it is, unordinary.  To my way of thinking, an opportunity to write degrades the longer it is held, until details are lost.  Updike works details, and details, not the loss of short-term memory like I experience under cannabis, have their place.  I copied some text:

 Updike’s highly distinctive prose style features a rich, unusual, sometimes arcane vocabulary as conveyed through the eyes of “a wry, intelligent authorial voice” that extravagantly describes the physical world, while remaining squarely in the realist tradition.[6] Updike famously described his own style as an attempt “to give the mundane its beautiful due.”[7]

This is refucking me.  Better.  Wikipedia drags over a lot of HTML.

I don’t feel good.  I know I need a walk.  Since I gave up to do that, and have been up hours and hours, I think I will quit now.  See the post time.

Leave a Reply

